Starter Relay

repairs, maintanence, electrical wizardry, mechanical epiphany, etc.
Forum Sponsored byHP Lubricants
oblongs

Starter Relay

Post by oblongs »

Hello all,
I've never done this before so I hope I don't butcher it up too bad. My starter relay went out on my bike about a month ago. (I have a 2004 SB with FI) With the help of the dealer I bought it from I found the relay and replaced it.
Last night I ran out to do a couple errands and it appears that the relay died again, at least it's acting the same as when it went out a month ago. Went into Home Depot, came out and hit the starter button and nothing. I got out my screw driver and jumped the started terminals and it fired right up, just like last time, so I'm guessing it's the relay again.
Is there something causing the relay to fail? I've owned it since it was new and a month ago was the first time it ever failed. Now a month later? I know it could be just a faulty new part, but I bought the more expensive one to try to avoid that.
I'm NOT a electrical guy at all, so please bear with me. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Dan
Fat people are harder to kidnap
V8Bikers
Site Admin

Re: Starter Relay

Post by V8Bikers »

Could be an intermittent short via a chafed wire touching metal or a fuse issue. I would first follow the wiring from the relay to the fuse box and see if there are any issues.

DeLand, FL.

"This is just one of the many reasons I love V8Bikers; able to openly display T&A, curse, say what you will;
able to be a fucking man here. Thanks Bill" - Grand Canard
Orlando606VetteTrike

Post by Orlando606VetteTrike »

How do you know it's the relay? What about checking the start button contacts/wiring. If that is defective it won't allow the starter relay to engage thus powering the starter.
2008 606 Corvette Trike
oblongs

Post by oblongs »

Thanks for the responses. Since I'm a firm believer that there are no stupid questions, but there are embarrassing questions, here are mine.